Bangladesh Academy of Science

Lastest News Details

Other News

  • UKAMS/I...
    13 September, 2022

    The UK Academy of Medical Scie...

  • BAS Act...
    6 October, 2021

    BAS Activity Report (January 2...

  • Predato...
    6 October, 2021

    Predatory publishing (also wri...

  • 13th HO...
    6 October, 2021

    To advance science and technol...

  • Interna...
    4 October, 2021

    2-International Conference and...

  • BAS- AA...
    1 June, 2021

    BAS- AASSA Webinar on "Plastic...





Lorentz Medal 2022

Once every four years the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences awards the Lorentz Medal to a scientist in recognition of their groundbreaking contributions to theoretical physics.

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences calls on the theoretical physics community to nominate candidates that should be considered for this prestigious honour.
The Lorentz Medal award was established in 1925 to honour Nobel laureate Hendrik Antoon Lorentz (1853-1928). The first medal was awarded to Max Planck. Among the 23 laureates are 11 Nobel Prize winners. The prize consists of a medal engraved with the image of Hendrik Antoon Lorentz and a symposium honouring the laureate's research.

Who may submit a nomination?

The following parties may nominate candidates for the Prize:
  • Boards of management and deans of universities in the Netherlands or elsewhere;
  • Directors of scientific research institutes in the Netherlands or elsewhere;
  • Individual researchers at universities or scientific institutions in the Netherlands or elsewhere;
  • Science academies and other scientific institutions in the Netherlands or elsewhere

Who is eligible?

Internationally renowned researchers in the field of theoretical physics 


Nominations can be submitted up until 1 March 2022 using the official nomination form on the Academy website.

More information

For more information about the regulations and procedures, please visit the Academy website.